EnglishGreekRussianChinese (Simplified)German

Sunday 18th December 2016
Sunday 18th December 2016
17:00 - 19:00
1 day/night
Technopolis 20 - Paphos
  Pafos Pafos
Nikolaou I. Nikolaidi Ave, Paphos, Cyprus
€5, €3 (children under 12)
German (of Polish descent) composer Moritz Moszkowski lived between 1854 and 1925 and one could say that he strongly resisted the then revolutionary musical trends introduced by Debussy, Scriabin and Schoenberg, something apparent in his Suite for two violins and piano, the harmonies and embellishments of which bring to mind more the music of Chopin than that of the impressionistic, expressionistic or Second Viennese schools. A particular, individual style can also be found in the works of British composer Alex Rawsthorne (1905-1971) whose Theme and variations for two violins was first heard at the International Contemporary Music Festival in London in 1938 and which instantly placed the composer on the board. As regards our entirely contemporary Russian composer Igor Frolov (born in 1939) he never studied composition, while was, at one time, known worldwide as a virtuoso violinist. He started writing on the suggestion of David Oistrakh, with his profound knowledge of the violin from a performer’s point of view always assuring the best possible result.

M. MOSZKOWSKI: Suite in G minor for two violins and piano, op. 71
A. RAWSTHORNE: Theme and variations for two violins
I. FROLOV: Divertimento for two violins and piano
Scherzo-Souvenir for two violins and piano

Anna Wrobel, Ayşe Karaoğlan (violins)
Manolis Neophytou (piano)

Booking & Event Information
Sunday 18 December
“Technopolis 20” Cultural Centre, 17:00
The concert is part of the events programme of the ECoC – Pafos2017

Ticket prices: €5, €3 (children under 12)
Ticket presales: Technopolis 20 (18 Nikolaou Nikolaidi av., 8010, Paphos, Tel. 70002420)

At the concert venue, from Tuesday-Saturday 13-16/12, 9:30-13:00 and on the concert day 1 hour before the concert
Information: 70002420