EnglishGreekRussianChinese (Simplified)German

Sunday 24th January 2016
Sunday 24th January 2016
17:00 - 19:00
1 day/night
Technopolis 20 Paphos
  Pafos Pafos
Nikolaou I. Nikolaidi Ave, Paphos, Cyprus
€5, €3 (children under 12)
What greater delight could a chamber music lover wish for, other than Mozart and Brahms works for the uncommon genre of string quintet, composed at the peak of the two composers’ musical maturity? The C major Quintet K. 515 (1787), one of the four string quintets that Mozart wrote during the last years of his life, is a sublime, breathtaking work with depth and drama. Brahms’ G major string quintet op. 111 (1890) is an ebullient work characterised by an equally amazing broadness of conception. As Brahms’ friend Theodor Billroth aptly expressed after listening to it: “I have often reflected on the subject of what happiness is for humanity. Well, today, in listening to your music, that was happiness.”

W. A. MOZART: String quintet in C major, K. 515
J. BRAHMS: String quintet in G major, op. 111

Wolfgang Schroeder, Sorin Alexandru Horlea (violins)
Vladimir Tkachenko, Krzysztof Wrobel (violas)
Petros Gospodinov (cello)

Ticket prices: €5, €3 (children under 12)
Ticket presales:
“Technopolis 20” (18 Nicolaos Nicolaides Av., 8010 Paphos, Tel. 70002420)
At the concert venue, from Tuesday 19/1, 9:30-19:00 and on the concert day 9:30-17:00

The concert is part of the events programme of the ECOE - Pafos2017