EnglishGreekRussianChinese (Simplified)German

Dance - Musical
Thursday 22nd October 2015
Thursday 22nd October 2015
20:30 - 23:00
1 day/night
Old Powerhouse, 8 Vladimirou Irakleous Str, Pafos 8010 – Cyprus
  Pafos Pafos
Vladimirou Irakleous, Paphos, Cyprus
€12, €7 (young people 18-26 yrs., pensioners), €5 (young people 12-18 yrs), €3 (children under 12)
In Memoriam
perfomed by the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra
at Polichoros Politismou - Old Electricity building

Concert dedicated to mark the 100th Anniversary of the Genocide of the Armenian People by the Turks

The Liturgy for Strings is Armenian music at its most intensely beautiful and poignant, embodying traditional liturgical melodies transmitted, and sanctified through devotion, over centuries. These melodies were edited and polyphonically arranged by Archimandrite Komitas (1869-1935) on the eve of the Armenian Genocide (of which he himself was to become a traumatised survivor), and masterfully arranged in the late sixties as a concert suite by Zareh Sahakiants (1933-1983). The Genocide itself served as a precursor to the Holocaust; the elegiac contrapuntal elegy, marked In Memoriam, for 23 solo strings by Komitas’ contemporary Richard Strauss (1864-1949), mourns the destruction wrought by World War II.
STRAUSS: Metamorphosen
KOMITAS / SAHAKIANTS: Liturgyfor strings
Conductor: Haig Utidjian
In collaboration with the Armenian Genocide Centenary Committee of Cyprus
Supporters: Paphos Municipality
Ticket prices:
€12, €7 (young people 18-26 yrs., pensioners), €5 (young people 12-18 yrs), €3 (children under 12)
Ticket presales:“Palia Ilektriki” Cultural Center (Vladimiros Heracleous 8, Paphos 8010, Tel. 22 463135) / From the concert venue, 3 hours before the concert

Markideion Theatre

Time: 8.30 pm

Price: € 12 and € 7

Cyprus Symphony Orchestra Foundation
Armenian Genocide Centenary Committee of Cyprus.